Latest News

News from Specialised Covers

Towcar of the Year awards 2013

For the first time in the Towcar of the Year competition, the Volkswagon Jetta Sport 2.0TDi DSG was voted as the overall winner for two consecutive years. Eleven judges admired the Jetta’s practicality and sophisticated design – it was important the winning candidate excelled whilst hitched up and unhitched, providing adequate performance during day-to-day life.

Each entrant was categorised based on the Vehicle Duty tax band. This ensures The Caravan Club provides relevant information for its one million members in recognition of environmental motoring issues.

The Caravan Club were keen to add a series of additional tests to this year's award, in a bid to provide their members with as much information, regarding the candidates, as possible, these included; an acceleration test – carried out by two judges with specialised test equipment. A reversing test was also added, along with the usual evaluation of the towcar’s dynamic abilities and ergonomic qualities.

The event was held at the Millbrook Proving Ground in Bedfordshire, similar to previous years, with 23 entrants competing.

Manufacturers were invited to submit for testing any cars that were launched as new between August 2011 to 30 September 2012. The caravan club also invited previous year’s overall winner to submit its car for re-testing.

The winners were:

Vehicle excise Duty bands A, B & C

Overall winter: Volkswagen Jetta Sport 2.0TDI DSG

Vehicle excise duty bands D, E & F

Winner: Volkswagen Jetta Sport 2.0TDI DSG

Vehicle excise Duty bands G, H & I and under 1800kg all-wheel drive category

Winner: Skoda Yeti SE Plus

Vehicle excise Duty bands

Winner: Mercedes-Benz ML350 BlueTEC Sport